University of Pittsburgh


Senior Staff Home

The Board of Trustees is responsible for advancing the purposes of the University; promoting and protecting its independence, academic freedom, and integrity; and enhancing and preserving its assets for the benefit of future generations of students and society at large. In addition, because the University of Pittsburgh is a state-related institution, the Trustees ensure that Pitt meets its obligations both to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and to society generally.

General administrative, academic, and management authority is delegated to the chancellor. However, the Board retains ultimate responsibility for all University affairs.

There are three or more regular meetings of the Board each year, including an annual meeting, and special meetings also may be called. Much of the work of the Board of Trustees is carried out in committees, and many of these committees include faculty, staff, and students as non-voting representatives.

(Text adapted from the Faculty Handbook.)

Board of Trustees, 2014-2015

Stephen R. Tritch, Chairperson
Eva Tansky Blum, Chairperson-Elect
Morgan K. O'Brien, Vice Chairperson
Mark A. Nordenberg, Chancellor and Chief Executive Officer, Member Ex-Officio (voting)

Term Trustees


Robert G. Lovett
Martha Hartle Munsch
Stephen R. Tritch
William E. Strickland Jr. 


Eva Tansky Blum
Catherine D. DeAngelis
Brian Generalovich
Marlee S. Myers
Robert P. Randall


Suzanne W. Broadhurst
Ira J. Gumberg
Dawne S. Hickton
Thomas E. Richards


Mary Ellen Callahan
Terrence P. Laughlin
Keith E. Schaefer
Sam S. Zacharias

Special Trustees


G. Nicholas Beckwith III
Craig A. Hartburg
Thomas M. Kurtz
John H. Pelusi Jr.


David C. Chavern
Brenton L. Saunders
Charles M. Steiner
Tracey T. Travis


Deborah J. Gillotti
Roberta A. Luxbacher
Larry J. Merlo


James P. Covert
Robert M. Hernandez
John A. Swanson

Alumni Trustees


Michael A. Bryson


Jack D. Smith


Douglas M. Browning
Bryant J Salter


Jane Bilewicz Allred
F. James McCarl III

Commonwealth Trustees

G: Governor appointment
H: House appointment
S: Senate appointment


John A. Maher III (H)
Morgan K. O'Brien (G)
John J. Verbanac (S)


John A. Barbour (G)
Herbert S. Shear (H)
Peter C. Varischetti (S)


Jay Costa Jr. (S)
Thomas O. Johnson II (H)


Sy Holzer
William K. Lieberman
Thomas L. VanKirk

Members Ex-Officio (non-voting)

Tom Corbett, Governor of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Carolyn Dumaresq, Acting Secretary of Education of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Rich Fitzgerald, Chief Executive of Allegheny County
William Peduto, Mayor of the City of Pittsburgh

Emeritus Trustees

Ruggero J. Aldisert
J. David Barnes
Steven C. Beering
Thomas G. Bigley
Frank V. Cahouet
John G. Conomikes
George A. Davidson Jr.
Herbert P. Douglas Jr.
Helen S. Faison
D. Michael Fisher
E. Jeanne Gleason
J. Roger Glunt
Henry L. Hillman
Earl F. Hord
A. Alice Kindling
Paul E. Lego
George L. Miles Jr.
Frank E. Mosier
Alfred L. Moyé
Thomas H. O'Brien
Anthony J. F. O’Reilly
Robert A. Paul
James C. Roddey
Farrell Rubenstein
Richard P. Simmons
Burton M. Tansky
Dick Thornburgh
Edward P. Zemprelli

Source: Office of the Secretary